History‎ > ‎

Canon Murtagh Shield

(Sourced from Saval's Gaelic Tradtion by Gerard McCarthy -1985)


‘Canon Murtagh Shield’ 

“At the Saval club’s annual general meeting held in December, 1972, it was decided to organise an annual juvenile football competition for a perpetual trophy involving local clubs. The trophy was to be named the Canaon Murtagh Shield in honour of the previous parish priest who had retired due to ill – health in 1970. The newly elected Saval Youth Committee with an executive of Chairman, Paul Digney, Secretary, Geraldine Lennon, and Treasurer, Paddy McAvoy, was given the task of organising the first tournament for this trophy. Sadly the concluding stages of the first U-14 tournament in July, 1973 coincided with the death of the canon, it was instituted to honour. It was fitting that Saval and neighbours Glenn should contest the final which the latter won on a scoreline 2-14 to 1-5.


Again in 1975, Saval Under-14’s under the management of Barney Quinn , Tony Kerr and John McAvoy, reached the final of the competition. The following Saval team had to be content with runners – up medals when they were beaten by a strong Mitchels side:- Gerard McCarthy, Gerard Hanna,Gerard McEvoy, Eamon Mcarthy, Seamus Sands, Tommy Mullan, Frank Digney, Raymond McEvoy (Capt), Dessie Sands, Martin Kerr, Jim McGreevy, Dominic Connell, Stephen Kerr. Substitutes were: Pat Connell, JimHaughey, Gerard Greer,Sean Cull, Anthony Goodman, Frank Quinn, Joseph Donald, Sean McNally, John McCarthy, Frank Kerr, Raymond McEvoy and Paul Lennon. Saval have yet to win the competition which has become a major U-14 football tournament in South Down.”




Canon Murtagh Shield Runners – Up 1973


Raymond Cull, Jarlath Digney, Ronan Sands, Eddie McManus Sean Cunningham, Domonic Dobbin, Gerard Duffy, Brian Maguire, Michael Redmond, Francis Digney, Damien Lennon, Raymond McEvoy, Jim McGreevy, Seamus Sands, Martin Hayes, Charlie Cunningham, Dominic Connell, Dessie Sands, Gerard Hanna, Stephen Kerr.